Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 7:00pm

126 S Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931


PERSICHETTI  Serenade No. 6
MOZART Horn Quintet in E flat major, K407
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 8
DVORAK String Quartet No. 12, Op. 98, "American"

Michael De Jesus, violin
Joni Roos, violin
Daniel Cortes, viola
Paul Fleury, cello
Amanda Moskowitz, french horn
Thomas McKee, trombone

Musicians from the ranks of the Space Coast Symphony Orchestra will perform a free chamber concert of chamber music classics, featuring the works of Shostakovich, Persichetti, Mozart, and Dvorak.  Composed in 1960 and dedicated to “the victims of fascism and war,” Dmitri Shostakovich’s 8th string quartet is one of his most personal, powerful, and haunting compositions.   The concert closes with Dvorák's “American” Quartet, the chamber counterpart to his “New World” Symphony.  Completed in New York during the previous spring, Dvorak's quartet is among the sunniest and most endearing creations in the instrumental repertory.  Rounding out this powerful program are works by Mozart and Persichetti.